Here is a checklist of the vaccines that are routinely offered to everyone in the UK, and the age at which you should ideally have them.

2 months:

  • 5-in-1 (DTaP/IPV/Hib) vaccine – this single jab contains vaccines to protect against five separate diseases: diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (whooping cough), polio and Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib, a bacterial infection that can cause severe pneumonia or Meningitis in young children)
  • Pneumococcal (PCV) vaccine
  • Rotavirus vaccine

3 months:

  • 5-in-1 (DTaP/IPV/Hib) vaccine, second dose
  • Meningitis C
  • Rotavirus vaccine, second dose

4 months:

  • 5-in-1 (DTaP/IPV/Hib) vaccine, third dose
  • Pneumococcal (PCV) vaccine, second dose

Between 12 and 13 months:

  • Hib/Men C booster, given as a single jab containing Meningitis C (second dose) and Hib (fourth dose)
  • Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine, given as a single jab
  • Pneumococcal (PCV) vaccine, third dose

2 and 3 years:

  • Flu vaccine (annual)

3 years and 4 months, or soon after:

  • Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine, second dose
  • 4-in-1 (DTaP/IPV) pre-school booster, given as a single jab containing vaccines against diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough (pertussis) and polio

Around 12-13 years:

  • HPV vaccine, which protects against cervical cancer (girls only) – three jabs given within six months

Around 13-18 years:

  • 3-in-1 (Td/IPV) teenage booster, given as a single jab which contains vaccines against diphtheria, tetanus and polio

Around 13-15 years

  • Meningitis C booster (from September 2013)

65 and over:

  • Flu (every year)
  • Pneumococcal (PPV vaccine)

70 years:

  • Shingles vaccine (from September 2013)